The Crown

mv5bnju2nza5mzgym15bml5banbnxkftztgwndawotuxmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_Title: The Crown

Release Date: November 4, 2016

Network: Netflix

Creator: Peter Morgan

Description: The Crown focuses on Queen Elizabeth II as a 25-year-old newlywed faced with the daunting prospect of leading the world’s most famous monarchy while forging a relationship with legendary Prime Minister, Sir Winston Churchill. The British Empire is in decline, the political world is in disarray, and a young woman takes the throne….a new era is dawning. Peter Morgan’s masterfully researched scripts reveal the Queen’s private journey behind the public facade with daring frankness. Prepare to be welcomed into the coveted world of power and privilege and behind locked doors in Westminster and Buckingham Palace….the leaders of an empire await. (Taken from IMDb)

When I heard that Netflix was making a TV series about Queen Elizabeth I was thrilled!

Queen Elizabeth and her family are the most well-known monarchs in the world and she is my favourite, possibly because she reminds me of my grandma.

While I am a huge fan of the monarchs I know next to nothing about their lives before Princess Diana. So I was even more excited when I was told it would start from her first days on the throne and each season would cover roughly ten years of her reign.

The series pulled me in and kept me engaged by normalizing the monarchs enough to make me feel emotionally connected to them and picking such interesting portions of her reign to highlight.

The actors were amazing! Not only did they look like the persons they were depicting (some of them scarily so) but they were also able to capture the nuances of these characters so that they felt real and as if you really knew them.

I really enjoyed the storylines as they showed that the monarchs and the people in power are not as perfect as they would like to seem. They have insecurities, they make bad decisions and have issues just like the rest of us.

I liked that they didn’t shy away from showing Phillip handling his new role in the backseat, her struggle to balance being his wife as well as his queen, the treatment of the family by her uncle and vice versa or the power struggle between her and Margaret.

I also really enjoyed Margaret and Peter’s story line and Elizabeth’s struggle as she tries to balance being a sister and a queen. Another interesting story line was her relationship with Winston Churchill and his struggle with stepping down and relinquishing his power.

Finally, can we talk about King George’s death? I knew it was coming but those scenes after he died had me tearing up. The show did a wonderful job capturing the grief of the family, the castle and the country in those scenes and throughout the rest of the series.

I think this series had a great start and I cannot wait to see what they have lined up for season two.

Have you watched The Crown?

Did you like it? What are your favourite story lines?

Let me know in the comments below!

See you tomorrow!

Shinke

Leave a Reply

